普氏钢铁期货指南创制目的旨在帮助钢铁产业高管增进对期货概念的了解,知悉启用价格风险管理工具的即时发展讯息。普氏能源资讯与所有相关方往来密切,是钢铁期货新闻的领导者。  

期货交易存在已久,一直应用于多个不同产业。然而对于钢铁期货而言,目前只有三家不同的交易所的地区性合同可供选择,但未来12个月内将有更多拟建合约生成。

钢铁期货的当前动态是什么?
什么是期货合约?
什么是对冲?
风险管理是新生工具吗?
钢铁风险管理工具——属于新生事物吗?
风险和利益分别是什么?

18年10月12日 Metinvest, Liberty top contenders ...
18年08月10日 Global market heards selection
18年08月09日 Global market heards selection
18年08月08日 Global market heards selection
打印所选文章 | 查看所选文章

钢铁期货的当前动态是什么?  
伦敦金属交易所于2008年4月启动了钢铁期货合约,在远东和地中海地区进行方坯交易。这些合约后在2010年7月合并成一份单一全球方坯期货合约。更多信息请访问www.lme.com

芝加哥商业交易所(CME)集团分支纽约商品交易所(NYMEX)在2008年10月开始交易热轧卷期货。合约通过财务结算对抗美国中西部市场已发布价格。更多信息请访问www.shfe.com.cn

上海期货交易所于2009年4月起开始交易中国螺纹钢和线材的期货合同。更多信息请访问www.nymex.com

钢铁指数The Steel Index通过独特的价格采集估算程序,每周为您呈现独立、精准和经充分考证的钢铁参考价格,可用于财务结算钢铁期货合约或其它场外交易(OTC)中远期价格风险管理产品的价格结算。   

钢铁指数为环球钢讯附属机构,SBB订阅户可享受价格周报服务10%的折扣。现在就注册领取 免费试用版吧!

 

什么是期货合约?

期货合约是金融风险管理工具,集团公司可通过在未来固定日期以今日协定价格买卖特定数量的发运产品对冲其价格风险承担。

市场存有各种形式的风险,一些参与者想规避风险,而其他参与者却故意获取风险。这些风险部分来自于市场,如利率抑扬、通货汇率变更、产权价格波动、原材料价格变幻,能源成本变动等。期货合约为交易所交易风险产品,可用于对冲多种风险水平。其它风险管理工具,例如远期合同或掉期等,个体公司以往一直都有提供。

 

 

什么是对冲?

一份期货合约提供对价格风险的了解和降低这种分险的机制。许多钢厂选择对冲通货和能源资源,同时其它相关方仅对冲了购买的部分或所有原材料,如锌、锡或镍。对冲机制将对业内所有相关方开放——钢厂、经销商、零售商和终端用户。

对冲的一种定义即是“通过在一个市场故意承担同等或相反的风险来抵消另一市场内已感知的风险”。

 

风险管理工具是新生工具吗?

这种工具已有数千年的应用历史了。在古代希腊,农民通过在橄榄收获数月前约定一个前期价格按一定百分比出售。从而和买方共担风险。在古罗马有一种粮食期货市场。发布的期货合约涉及多种产品和商品,诸如石油、黄金、货币、指数或股票和债券。最近十年,仅美国一国的期货市场成交量就从3亿张增长至6亿张(期货合约可以以复数单位计价,例如:25吨,5000升等。)

 

钢铁风险管理工具——他们是新兴事物吗?

不是,但迄今为止钢铁期货合约只在非常有限的范围内可供使用,不论是地理范围还是产品品种,交易量一直也很低。

1990年代,中国发起了数份期货合约。事实上,中国曾设立了三家不同的交易所交易钢铁价格风险。但这些交易所都因业务稀缺而在1994年关闭,这可能是因为管制力度不足,以及将期货交易视为与风险管理相背离的投资赌博行为导致的。

在印度,目前有两家期货交易所提供钢铁期货合约—MCX(钢锭和热轧卷)和NCDEX(仅钢锭)——但据悉交易量非常有限。

在中东,迪拜黄金和商品交易所(DGCX)计划在2006年后期启动一份螺纹钢期货合约。

 

风险和利益分别是什么?

利益 风险
价格风险管理
价格风险承担可被管控。

参考价格
透明的价格将促进与其他市场拥有影响力人士的内外部谈判,如工会和政府。期货合约可提高价格透明度。由于他们在公开交易所交易,因此被认定为最具透明度的价格,(理论上)没有做市商(通过提供买卖报价为金融产品制造市场的证券商)能够影响价格。

其它市场(如石油和铝)经验显示,不同种相关产品的现货价格高度相联,就钢铁产品而言,这可能意味着不同产品采用的期货合约也不同,例如,热轧卷可以被用作冷轧卷和板坯附加保险费或折扣的参考报价。基于同样的原因,管理原材料关系可能会更加便利—例如,铁矿石价格可以通过一次交易和热轧卷价格相联;同时利润也能得到保证。

预测工具
资本投资决策可能更具客观性。知晓未来收益来源—比如说最终长达5年意味着生产商能够更好地计划产能。这样的计划和更确定的现金流同样将减少借贷或资本成本。

降低生产商资本成本
银行对其视为更高风险的业务收取的利率也较高。如果一家生产商可以通过期货合约对冲证明其期货现金流风险较小,银行可能将以更低成本提供贷款,在某种情况下甚至可提供之前不愿提供的贷款。另外,当前无法借贷的小型公司也可通过使用钢铁期货来实现。因此,一种诸如期货合约的风险管理工具能够通过提升可用资本使产业更趋稳健,并减少资本成本,从而提高盈利。

产业联合
在部分产业内,期货合约的引入加大了部门/专业联合契机。这是因为开放的交易价格和相关转移定价(例如:冷轧卷和热轧卷间的保险费)使得垂直化集成业务风险降低。因此如果钢铁期货能够成功,我们可能会看到部分公司成长为专业化板坯或方坯生产商,因为其它企业强化了他们的下游部门生产。这样更易于公司专攻其擅长的领域。

缺乏流动性
如果公司不启用期货合约,举例来说,市场将缺失流动性或牵引力,这个概念只会流产。然而,全球钢铁产业的基础资产是十分庞大的—据部分人士估计约合4400亿美元,相较基础和稀有金属业相关资产为1300亿美元。此外,钢铁产业的年营业额也是巨大的;介于2000亿美元和3000亿美元之间。因此流动性很可能将得到发展,但这还未成定势。

投机买卖
有人担心使用期货市场的公司将会太少。在这种情况下,部分经销商会垄断市场吗?——在理论上,是会这样。但如果合约构建合理,交易管制力度充足,这一情况则不可能发生。

现货与期货价格的分歧
投机行为或流动性太小都有可能发生。垄断市场或抬高期货价格,将现货市场价格远抛在后。

 

相关新闻 English | 中文 | Português | Español | Deutsch | Italiano | Русский

© 2018 普氏能源资讯 版权所有
Back to top  返回页首

The Platts Steel Futures Guide has been created to help steel industry executives improve their understanding of the futures concept, and keep up to date with the latest developments in launching a price risk management tool. Platts is in close contact with all concerned parties and is the leader for steel futures news.  

Futures trading has been around for a long time and is used by many different industries, including most non-ferrous metals. For steel, however, currently only regional futures contracts are available on 3 different exchanges, but further contracts are planned for launch over the next 12 months.

What is currently happening in steel futures?
What are futures contracts?
What is hedging?
Are risk management tools new?
Steel risk management tools - are they new?
What are the risks and benefits?

15 Jan 15 Lisco 2014 sales steady: ...
22 Dec 14 November world crude output ...
7 Oct 14 Worldsteel downgrades demand forecast ...
10 Sep 14 Spain's H1 steel output ...
Print selection | View selection

What is currently happening in steel futures?  
The London Metal Exchange launched steel futures contracts in April 2008, trading billet in the Far East and the Mediterranean region. These were merged into a single global billet futures contract in July 2010. Visit www.lme.com for more information.

The New York Mercantile Exchange (NYMEX) division of CME Group began trading hot rolled coil futures in October 2008. The contract is settled financially against a published price for the US Midwestern market. Visit www.shfe.com.cn for more information.

The Shanghai Futures Exchange began trading futures contracts in Chinese rebar and wire rod in April 2009. More information at www.nymex.com

As a consequence of its unique price collection and calculation processes, The Steel Index provides independent, accurate and fully verifiable weekly steel reference prices that can be used as the settlement prices for financially-settled steel futures contracts or other Over-The-Counter (OTC) forward price risk management products.   

The Steel Index is a company owned by Platts, and Platts Subscribers receive a 10% discount on subscriptions to the weekly price service. Sign up for a free trial now!

 

What are Futures Contracts?

Futures contracts are financial risk management tools that enable companies to hedge their price risk exposure by agreeing to buy or sell a particular volume of product for delivery on a fixed future date at a price agreed today.

Markets have different forms of risk, and while some participants wish to avoid risk, others deliberately want to a acquire it. The risks depend in part on the market for example; interest rates rising and falling, currency rates changing, fluctuations in equity prices, raw material prices changing, energy costs fluctuating, etc. Futures contracts are exchange-traded risk products that hedge the risk levels. Other risk management tools, such as forward contracts or swaps may, and have historically been offered by individual companies.

 

 

What is hedging?

A futures contract provides an understanding of price risk and a mechanism to reduce it. Many steel mills already hedge currencies and energy sources, whilst others just hedge some or all of their raw materials purchases, such as zinc, tin or nickel. The possibility of hedging would be open to all in the industry - mills, traders, stockists and end-users.

One definition of hedging is “The offsetting of perceived risk in one market by the deliberate assumption of an equal and opposite risk in another market"

 

Are risk management tools new?

Such instruments have been used for thousands of years. In ancient Greece farmers sold a percentage of their olives at a predetermined up-front price, months before the harvest. Thus sharing the price risk with the buyers. In ancient Rome there was a forward market in grain. Futures contracts are issued on many products and commodity materials such as oil and gold, on currencies, indexes or equities and bonds. In the last decade in the USA alone, the futures market grew from 300 to 600 million contracts (a contract can be in multiple units for example; 25 tonnes, 5,000 litres etc).

 

Steel risk management tools - are they new?

No, but a very limited range of steel futures contracts have been available to date, both in terms of regional scope and the products covered, and trading volumes have been low.

In the 1990s, a number of contracts were launched in China. In fact, three different exchanges were set up to trade steel price risk. But by 1994 all of them were closed due to lack of business, which was possibly because they were lightly regulated and were seen more as exchanges for speculation and betting as opposed to risk management. Currently the Shanghai Futures Exchange is awaiting approval to launch a new steel futures contract by the end of 2006.

In India, two exchanges currently offer steel futures contracts - MCX (for steel ingots and HRC) and NCDEX (only steel ingots) - but trading is understood to be very limited.

In the Middle East, the Dubai Gold and Commodities Exchange (DGCX) is planning to launch a rebar futures contract in the latter part of 2006.

 

What are the risks and benefits?

Benefits Risks
Price risk management
Price risk exposure can be managed and controlled.

Reference Price
Transparent prices will facilitate external and internal negotiations with other market influencers, such as unions and governments. Futures contracts increase price transparency. As they are traded on an open exchange and acknowledged as the most transparent price, there is no one market maker (in theory) who can influence the price.

Experience in other markets (e.g. oil and aluminium) shows that there is a high correlation between spot prices of different related products. In the case of steel products this could mean that a futures contract for one product, e.g. HRC could be used as a reference quotation price for other products such as cold rolled coil or slabs with a premium or discount. For similar reasons, the management of raw materials relationships could also be made easier – e.g. iron ore contracts could be linked to the price for HRC on an exchange; hence protecting margins.

Forecast tool
Decision making on capital investment can be more objective. Knowing the future revenue streams – say for a period ultimately up to five years ahead means that producers should be able to better plan capacity. Such planning and more certain cash flows should also reduce the cost of borrowing or capital.

Lower cost of capital for producers
Banks charge higher interest rates for businesses which they view as being more risky. If a producer can show that his future cash flow risks are less with a hedge of futures contracts, a bank is likely to lend cheaper money, or in some cases even to lend money when previously it would not. In addition, smaller companies who currently cannot borrow, could be able to by use of steel futures. A risk management tool such as futures contracts would, therefore, be healthy for the industry by potentially increasing the capital available and also reducing the cost of capital and thus improving profitability.

Consolidation
In certain industries the introduction of a futures contract has increased the opportunity for sector/specialist consolidation. This is because the open exchange price and related transfer pricing (e.g. a premium between CRC and HRC) make vertically integrated businesses less risky. Additionally the open exchange price allows the whole industry to share the risk. Thus if steel futures are a success we could see some companies becoming specialist slab or billet producers, as others strengthen their downstream operations. It will therefore be easier for companies to specialise in what they are good at.

Lack of liquidity
If companies do not use futures contracts, i.e. there is a lack of liquidity or traction in the market the concept will simply fail. However, the underlying asset value of the global steel industry is large – estimated by some people as being $440bn, compared with about $130bn for the base and precious metals industry. Plus the annual turnover of the steel industry is massive; between $200bn and $300bn. Thus it is likely that liquidity will develop, but not certain.

Speculation
There is a fear that too few steel companies would use a futures’ market. In this case, could some traders corner the market? – in theory, yes. But if the contract is appropriately structured, and the exchange is well regulated this is unlikely.

The divergence of the physical and futures price
This is possible if there is speculation or too little liquidity. Cornering the market could lift the futures price, and leave the spot market behind.









 

Steel news in English | 中文 | Português | Español | Deutsch | Italiano | Русский

© Copyright Platts 2015, all rights reserved.
Back to top  Back to top